Pirate’s Lair on Tom Sawyer Island
Guests seeking action and adventure will have fun at Pirate’s Lair on Tom Sawyer Island. The island opened on June 16, 1956, offering guests a chance to live out the adventures they have read about in Mark Twain’s novel, “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer.” Pirate’s Lair was incorporated into the island in 2006, to fulfill Tom’s dream of living as a pirate. Guests are welcomed as fellow pirates and given a treasure map that will lead them to treasure hidden on the island by pirates. Along the way, they will encounter tree-lined trails, mysterious dark caves and a resident pirate who may teach them a thing or two. The island also is a haven for energetic guests, young and old, who have the adventurer spirit. Barrel and suspension bridges, Tom & Huck’s Treehouse, Castle Rock and Smuggler’s Cove invite guests to make a climb or play hide and seek. The island is also a sanctuary for guests who simply want to escape the main thoroughfares of the park and relax under the shady trees.
- Pirate’s Lair on Tom Sawyer’s Island is accessible only by raft, exactly the way Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn travelled along the Mississippi River.
- Back in 1956, guests interacted with Tom Sawyer, Becky Thatcher, and Huckleberry Finn themselves; all characters from Mark Twain’s iconic American novel “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer.”
- Fishing rods were once available for guests to fish for catfish, perch, and bluegill.
- Tom’s and Huck’s pirate names are carved into the walls of their tree house.
- Six different pirate flags (five based on the actual flags used by famous pirates) can be found on the island.
- Tom Sawyer Island is the only attraction designed by Walt Disney himself.
# # #
Disneyland Resort Public Relations